Four Nigeria Parties Challenge Tinubu's Election Win

Four Nigerian opposition parties on Tuesday filed legal challenges to President-elect Bola Tinubu's victory in the 25 February presidential election.

The People’s Democratic Party’s (PDP) Atiku Abubakar, Labour Party’s Peter Obi, Action Alliance Solomon Okangbuan and Allied People’s Movement’s Chichi Ojei all filed petitions with the Presidential Election Tribunal hours before the lapse of a constitutional deadline to challenge the election results.

The two top opposition leaders, Mr Abubakar and Mr Obi, asked the tribunal to declare that Mr Tinubu was “was not duly elected by majority of the lawful votes cast at the time of the election”, local media reported.

Mr Obi alleged rigging in 11 states including Rivers, Lagos, Taraba, Benue, Adamawa, Imo, Bauchi, Borno, Kaduna and Plateau.

Mr Abubakar and Mr Obi also want the Presidential Election Tribunal to withdraw Mr Tinubu’s election win certificate.